Scotland

Breaking Scotland In

The Days Are Just Packed!!!*

Day one. 30 January 2005:

First flight cancelled (thank you, airlines. When will someone get those things working?). Met two of my great-grandfather’s college athletes on the plane, then say next to a Sunni Muslim pediatrician named Rajj from Kashmir who married a Catholic woman and was sorry to hear that I was going to be going to India during the dead of summer.

Day Two. 31 January, 2005:

Still traveling, but with a completely busted-up suitcase (once again, thank you, airlines) and some new friends from across the country which, I’m happy to say, enjoy pub-crawling in Edinburgh and meeting Scottish friends as much as I do.

Day Three. 1 February, 2005:

After a jet-lagged half-day in Edinburgh, the 75 Americans on the Butler Scotland program were treated with a full day of orientation, during which I learned…
1) Aye means yes or always in Scotland.
2) Aye right means no.
3) Aye right means yes, always.

Got it?

More on Days 3-6 soon…

*Yes I do love Calvin and Hobbes.

4 thoughts on “Breaking Scotland In”

  1. Mark,

    As I sit here in ECON 251, I am remdinded of a story once told to me by an older woman on a bus to Vladivostok. Actually I was not reminded of that story, mainly because that story does not exist because I never met a woman on that bus to Vladivostok, because I have never been to Russia. I’m not sure where I’m going with this. It just reminded me of you. Vanderbilt is not quite as fun without you. I tried playing racquetball by myself, but it didn’t work well. I don’t think Meghan will be much help either.

    (I am NOT responsible for the content of these comments.)

Leave a Reply

